INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: format options in release date column  (Read 1640 times)

danlollar

format options in release date column
« on: April 02, 2012, 12:13:07 am »

I’ll try to not be too wordy here and get to the point but my inquiry is an unusual one because it has nothing to do with what MC is known for. “The Audiophiles Choice”

After 30 years as a radio programmer I still have over 4000 CDs, even after 3 divorces. :o
Two years ago I decided to rip them all as .wav to hdd. :D
During the two years I learned important lessons about the popular (free) ripping software as well as playback software. >:(
My quest finally led me to JRiver for listening enjoyment and dBpoweramp for ripping. ;D
dBpoweramp allows me to edit the metadata as I wish and store the artwork I choose in the data.
JRiver is the ONLY program I found that reads *nearly* everything as I edited it and doesn’t change artwork without my permission. ;D

Now on to whats tripping my O.C.D. :-\

As I stated I have 30 years in radio.
When I rip a CD I leave the album intact and the usual metadata. BUT...

I then rip the singles as a totally independent track with 45 sleeve artwork or a photo of the 45rpm itself.
I then add the date the song peaked on it’s respective chart instead of the albums release date.

My problem is getting JRiver to show the entire date format rather than only the year.
It’s a small issue since I usually enjoy the visualizations while I listen but I really enjoy sorting by date and listening in a real historical manner.
Not just yearly.
Especially since I’ve gone to this extreme detail and I did get to enjoy the feature briefly when I tried iTunes.
I’ve tried both Month/Day/Year and Year/Month/Day but still only see the year in the sort columns.

I can’t find anything about changing this.