INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Library Server and pc wake up issues  (Read 1433 times)

Daveyravey

• Galactic Citizen
Library Server and pc wake up issues
« on: April 11, 2012, 09:01:54 am »

Hi All

I'm relatively new to MC but am trying to set up a network of PC's My set up is as follows

Main PC in Living room with 2 HDD with movies installed. I have set this up as my library server. 
PC in the bedroom with hard drives and movies
PC in the bedroom.
I have mapped the drives using the media import wizard pointing to the relevant pc's for example :-

\\htpc\d\bluraymovies
\\bedroompc\d\bluraymovies
\\officepc\d\bluraymovies

JRiver works wonderfully i can play all media on the relevant pc's apart from one thing...

My problem is whatever i seem to do i cannot for the life of me get each pc to WOL. I have tried loads of different settings so in order for me to watch a movie say for example on the main library i have to manually wake it.

Can any give a newbie on setting this up?  Or can it not be done?  I have read about port forwarding but i am not sure what i need to do for a home network.. i just assumed that if the 3 main PC's are all connected and run the main library it would work.

Any ideas?

cheers

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Library Server and pc wake up issues
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 09:08:44 am »

Make sure your computer is configured to allow wake on LAN.  It's in Device Manager > Network Card > Power.

Also, make sure you are connecting using an Access Key.

Then, when a client connects to the server it should wake it up.  Even if you connect with your Android phone and Gizmo it should wake the server up.

Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 09:09:01 am »