INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi from a MC newbie - and few questions ;)  (Read 2725 times)

ozziaj

• Recent member
Hi from a MC newbie - and few questions ;)
« on: June 23, 2012, 05:06:55 am »

Hi to ya’ all;

I’m new to JRiver Media Center (presently using v17.0.173 as a trial on Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit), coming from many years of iTunes, and getting fed up with that particular puppy, just like I got really peed off with M$’s WMP all them years ago.

Ok then, MC looks and feels pretty darn good, certainly sounds great (after playing with & adjusting them various settings), and the UI’s are a treat, particularly in Theater Mode. Having said all that, MC is, however, a rather very different beast from where I’m coming from, and definitely requires the user to spend a fair amount of time getting to know its multitude and deeply layered/leveled menus, settings and options. My gut feeling says this will take me a couple of weeks – and I’m pretty handy with UI’s, coming from an IT/SAD background.

Below are some of the major things I so far haven’t been able to figure out, and perhaps some kind soul – and/or vastly more experienced user of MC – on this board could help me out with / point me in the right direction. So here goes (my apologies for the lengthy post):

Question 1:   Where can I backup/export my custom MC configuration (and I mean the whole shebang, including the libraries and playlists)?? I mean, what happens if I have to reinstall the OS, and MC? Do I have to go through the whole setting-up exercise again? It’s not like it takes a few minutes (as in iTunes, and even that puppy stores its settings in its library so that they are back after a quick reinstall, provided the library is kept out of C:\). Can’t I simply backup all my custom settings, libraries & playlists, and then import them if/as needed?