INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: multi channel audio interface plus power amps replace surround receiver ?  (Read 4471 times)

RC23

• World Citizen

The Wiki article for surround describes the workflow with a surround receiver.

Is there an alternative way to decode surround by MC17 and streaming the 5.1 PCM signal by a multi channel audio interface to separate power amps ?

nwboater

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe

There are several of us on this Forum that are receiver-less. I have been doing it for a couple of years now. First used an EMU 0404USB 2 channel DAC straight to the power amps. For a little over a year I've been using an internal Asus Essence ST sound card with an H6 Daughter card. That combo allows up to 7.1 playback. We are using it in a 5.1 system and have been very pleased with the whole setup. I see no reason for a receiver when you have MC17.

Mojave previously used the same Essence ST cards but has upgraded to a Steinberg setup. Hulkss probaly has the most elaborate system - 16 channels, I believe. I know I've read of others here doing the same thing. Hopefully some of them will chime in.

Rod

RC23

• World Citizen

Thanks for affirmation of the receiver-less way.  :)

In my coming setup I will feed a Focusrite Saffire 40 for both tasks stereo and surround.

RC23

• World Citizen

Does MC17 contain test signals for surround setup (level and delay of channels) or is it better to go for an alternative way?

nwboater

• MC Beta Team

Does MC17 contain test signals for surround setup (level and delay of channels) or is it better to go for an alternative way?

Yes it does, although the channel delay is a little coarse. If you already have MC 17 go poke around in Tools/Options/Audio/Settings/DSP & Output Format/Room Correction. While you are there also look at Output Format & Parametric Equalizer. Some real powerful stuff!