INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Loading JRiver MediaCenter onto an external hard drive and also onto a usb stick  (Read 3634 times)

plectrum

I have just purchased the above program after a few problems.  I wanted to choose which drive to put the program on, but it automatically put it onto the C drive.  It also automatically installed all the audio files from my computer, which I did not want.  So now I would like to install just the program without any audio files, onto my external drive and also onto my usb stick.  How can I do this please.  So far not too impressed with what has occurred, but early days.
Would be grateful for some guidance, please remember I am new to this program.
Many thanks
John

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!

Thanks for the purchase.

After you've installed, the only way to move the program is to uninstall, then install again at the new location.

When a fresh install launches, it will ask if you want it to automatically import in the Action Window at the lower left of the program.  You can click and manually configure it if you like.

There's also a thing called a 'Portable Install' for USB sticks.  You access this by doing a 'Custom' install.  You will have to have a licensed, regular install on the computer before you can do portable installs.  Portable installs have some limitations, so I would try a regular install when possible.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

plectrum

To Matt,