INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: distorted dvd audio..like playing a record at too low speed  (Read 1653 times)

shimrod

• Recent member
distorted dvd audio..like playing a record at too low speed
« on: August 09, 2012, 08:36:02 pm »

I've been searching for a similar post and I haven't found anything, when I play a dvd movie the sound is very distorted, like the frequency is downshifted. My music files play fine, sound great.

I'm using wasapi event style through a HT Omega Claro sound card, spdif to a receiver. Video is set to red october standard. I've played with various settings and haven't improved the dvd audio. I expect it's a simple configuration issue but I'd appreciate any help or suggestions. If I need to supply any other configuration information please let me know what will help, I'm new at this. Thanks.

shimrod

• Recent member
Re: distorted dvd audio..like playing a record at too low speed
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 06:35:31 pm »

Is this forum always so unhelpful?

The problem turned out to be the wasapi event style setting. I changed to direct sound and the distorted dvd playback was gone.

I find it hard to believe I'm the only one who's had this problem, shouldn't this response be discussed in the setup wiki? Does anyone read these?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 07:10:09 pm »

When nobody replies, it often means nobody knows.  I don't know.  It's a very unusual problem.

What version of MC are you using?  Is it a disc or a ripped DVD?  Does anything else play it?  WMP, for example.

In Tools/Options/Filetypes, check how DVD's are played.

shimrod

• Recent member
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2012, 08:39:53 pm »