INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Changing channels with USBUIRT?  (Read 2604 times)

sdumas

• Recent member
  • nothing more to say...
Changing channels with USBUIRT?
« on: August 29, 2012, 04:42:02 pm »

Ok total newbie here...

I have installed MC 17 and it works - I got the EPG to work - I got all my media in (sucks that I can't differentiate between a movie and a tv show though) - but I haven't found where to go so that MC sends an IR signal to my STB (in this case Bell ExpressVU receiver) to change channels.

I am using Hauppauge HDPVR. I get a TV signal from the STB - good image - but if I change the channel from MC - nothing happens on the STB - no changes in channels (it works obisously if I change the channel manually or with the Bell remote directly on the STB)

I have a USBUIRT which I defined under Remote (along with Keyboard...). I tried to "learn" the command from my Bell remote through my USBUIRT and that seemed to work, but it looks to be one way only - from the remote to MC. I want MC to STB...

I looked through the forum and found confusing info - USBUIRT works / doesn't work - receives only - no, transmit and receives - use the HDPVR blaster - don't use the HDPVR blaster... I did not find a place that tells me how to use my USBUIRT to send IR to my STB from MC.

Any help?

Thanks!

eapool

• Galactic Citizen
Re: Changing channels with USBUIRT?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 07:53:44 pm »

Ok, I cannot really say if the USBUIRT will work for you.  I think that is what I am using, however, I am not bring it directly into MC.  Here is how you set it up:

Tools|Options

Select Remote and click Next.

Follow the prompts. 

It prompt you to teach each of the signals for the STB numbers (0-9).  You can also configure volume and power signals for your other equipment.  You will need a blaster from the USBUIRT to the STB or other equipment.