INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Importing files into MC and copying files into Music directory  (Read 2338 times)

socaldrummer

Importing files into MC and copying files into Music directory
« on: September 27, 2012, 02:56:35 pm »

Hi all,

I'm new to JRiver Media Center.  I'm re-ripping CD's into FLAC, and using MC with an AudioEngine D1, which sounds great.

Here's my question: if I want to pull MP3's into MC from an external source, like a network drive or a thumb drive, is there an option like in iTunes, where you can say "copy into Music folder when importing".  Basically if have MC music files all self-contained, and I want to move into that structure when I import.  So far, it's just putting a pointer to it in the files' original location.

I searched and didn't find anything - thanks!

SoCalDrummer (Mitch)

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Importing files into MC and copying files into Music directory
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2012, 06:50:16 pm »

I'm not sure exactly what you would like, or if you solved it, but take a look at the Library Tool called "Rename, Move, Copy".  It can move files according to their metadata.  Try a few before you do very many.

MrC

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2012, 10:52:06 pm »

MC doesn't use or require a separate file system structure like iTunes can use.  Rather, your media files can be anywhere.

Ripped files will be placed in the locations specified in Options > File Locations > Audio.

Existing files that you import retain their locations, and as JimH mentions, they may be moved using the Rename... tool.
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

socaldrummer

« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2012, 01:31:49 pm »