INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Keeping Tag data when copying file to another PC  (Read 1004 times)

Gwilson

• Junior Woodchuck
Keeping Tag data when copying file to another PC
« on: October 07, 2012, 02:28:51 pm »

I use one PC to rip and then copy the new file to my media server.  Today I ripped a 2 CD set and when I viewed it in MC17 on the ripping PC I noticed that 1 of the discs had no year entered.  I like the albums sorted by year under the album artist - helps me to see progression of artists' skills.  So in MC17 on the ripping PC I entered the year and everything was as I wished.  Then when I transferred these 2 discs to my media server the year was again missing on the aforementioned disc.  I studied the entries in the Help section and found the Year field could not be among those selected for ""store in file tags (when possible)".  Since I generally make tag corrections only on the server (find mistakes while actually playing a file) I am concerned that if I have a hard drive failure ( I just had 1 of my backups fail 3 days ago) on the media server itself I will lose all these fields like year, where I have entered a correction that is not stored in file tags.  Am I correct that currently there is no way to save this year in the original file tag when I make the correction through MC17?  Any way around this?

Thanks,
Glynn Wilson

MrC

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Keeping Tag data when copying file to another PC
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2012, 02:37:57 pm »

Hi Glynn,

The [Year] value actually comes from the [Date] field; [Year] is an abbreviation for [Date (year)], and is a calculated field culled from [Date].  [Date] is stored in tags by default.