INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Theatreview plugin + Workaround for online services (PICS!)  (Read 9975 times)

brendonp

• Recent member
Theatreview plugin + Workaround for online services (PICS!)
« on: October 11, 2012, 11:27:48 pm »

I've been using MC for quite a few years and have been involved in software development for longer then I care to remember; while my days are now more management and architecting large scale web apps, everything is .NET based and I thought I might try my hand at extending MC.

My specific area of improvement for MC is the online services - while I appreciate the availability of Hulu and Youtube, there's obviously a fair bit of work to do to catch up with other players.

Unfortunately the documentation seems a bit sketchy on how to approach this - I see lots about automation, but nothing specific to TheatreView.

Thinking about the problem it occurs to me that a simple solution might be to generate library items on the fly for display in TheatreView - perhaps using Playlists, though I'm not sure how much meta data would be available...  By stuffing library items and creating virtual folders, one could conceivably generate the UI required (series/seasons/episodes/etc) without really needing to write any UI code per se...

Has anyone gone down this path?

--------------------------------------

Now for something completely different -

I picked up a subscription to NFL Game Rewind this eve (which prompted the above thinking).   Needing a quick and relatively painless way to get at it without a keyboard (cookies don't seem to play nice /w MC), I decided to simply create a webpage that logs me into to the Game Rewind player - here's the page:

<html>
<head>
</head>
<body onload="frmLogin.submit();">
   <form id="frmLogin" action="https://id.s.nfl.com/login" method="post">