INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Spped of playback of MC18 over wireless?  (Read 1171 times)

devtech8

• Recent member
Spped of playback of MC18 over wireless?
« on: November 25, 2012, 03:29:28 am »

So I am fairly new to actually using MC and have a couple of hundred movies setup so far. Some movies play fine and other skip (like they are buffering or something) which can get pretty annoying. When they start skipping, I can pause the movie for some time and it will start playback again just fine and with no stuttering then will return again to some pausing/skipping. I am running this on wireless n to my ps3 from a windows server 2008 machine. My router is a dual channel gigabit router (Asus n56-u). Like I said, some movies play fine while others pause/skip and it doesn't matter what file type or anything (in case it was doing some conversioning). Any ideas on anything I can check or do? Don't want to run hard-wired because of tv location if that could be the issue. Thanks much.

jmone

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • I won! I won!
Re: Spped of playback of MC18 over wireless?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2012, 04:07:21 am »

This is one of the reasons I hate wireless.  Seems if the wind blows the wrong way then you get poor performance.  That said, I've now added 3 Wireless Access Point around my house to ensure a good solid coverage and I can stream high bitrate video just fine (eg BD) to wireless devices without any issues.  To test your throughput try copying a movie from the server in explorer and see what your throughput is like.  I've also had good sucess with some of the Ethernet over Powerline adapters, as if they work on your house wireing they are like reliable WiFi.
JRiver CEO Elect

devtech8

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2012, 04:16:13 am »