INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver Rip vs ITunes Rip  (Read 4301 times)

BigDu

JRiver Rip vs ITunes Rip
« on: November 27, 2012, 10:59:23 am »

I am new to JRiver and am doing a trial run. The reason I'm here is for ultimate sound quality from ripped CDs and Hi Rez downloads. I know alot about audiophile sound but very little about computers. Up until now I have used ITunes as my computer player (Windows PC) and have ripped 3000+ CDs @ AIFF 1411 bit rate. I have downloaded my entire ITunes library into the Media Center (MC), and to me the tunes sound identical when switching between MC and the existing ITunes. However when I rip a CD to MC directly, in most cases it sounds MUCH better than the ITunes import.

This is my question: is there any way to import the ITunes library into the MC and get the same sound quality as MC ripping the CD directly? Or is what I'm hearing the fundamental difference between how ITunes and MC download bits? I figured @ AIFF 1411 bit rates "bits were bits" but apparently that is not the case? What I'm tryting to avoid, at all costs, is having to re rip over 9 days of music.

Anybody got any ideas? Different settings, maybe??.......

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: JRiver Rip vs ITunes Rip
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 11:04:04 am »

Welcome to the forum.  Here is a topic on our wiki:
http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Audio_Output_Modes

ferday

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 11:48:01 am »

AIFF is lossless, and it should be a "bit perfect" copy.  therefore there shouldn't be any difference between JRiver rips into (FLAC or WAV) and itunes rips (into AIFF)
that said, i don't know how iTunes actually rips and if it "colors" the copy or not...lossless unfortunately doesn't always mean bit perfect, it depends on the software.