INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Center 18 - Memory Usage Increases Dramatically Over Time  (Read 5654 times)

jmlogan

• Recent member
Media Center 18 - Memory Usage Increases Dramatically Over Time
« on: December 26, 2012, 12:22:17 pm »

All:

I have been using JRiver Media Center since customer since 2006 (MC 11), and I buy the upgraded version every year, although I may wait a while to install it.

Case in point: I just upgraded from MC 16 to MC 18 on my main music server.  I did so primarily because I was experiencing a problem with Soundspectrum's "Winter Wonders" visualization software, and I wanted to see if the problem continued with the new version of MC (it has, but that's Soundspectrum's problem, not yours).

In any case, I have noticed since installing MC 18 that it's memory usage increases over time, quite dramatically.  I took a look at my server this morning, on which MC 18 had been running only since 12/24, and the MC18 process ("Media Center 18.exe") was using over 3GB of memory (this is on a Windows 7 system with 8GB of memory installed).

Upon reboot, MC 18's memory usage dropped to less than 100MB.  However, a few hours later it is now approximately 470K, although the software has been essentially idle since reboot.  I have 3 zones defined, with a playlist of between a few hundred and a few thousand tracks in each zone, each zone has been on pause since reboot, yet the memory usage has more than quadrupled.

I would appreciate any insights as to what may be going on and/or some additional troubleshooting steps that I can take to help determine the cause of the problem.  Thanks in advance.

Jim Logan
26 December 2012

JohnT

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Media Center 18 - Memory Usage Increases Dramatically Over Time
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2012, 03:47:03 pm »