INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A good receiver for these speakers  (Read 2089 times)

locust

• Citizen of the Universe
A good receiver for these speakers
« on: January 09, 2013, 06:16:48 am »

I'm not too technically clued up of the audio side of things and I am looking for some advice.

I have a pair  of old sony ss-lb55av that I have had for well over a decade probably a lot longer (Manual here http://www.nodevice.com/manual/sonymans/manual5846pdf/get7357.html) they used to be connected to a Sony LBT-N455K but I lost that ages ago... Right now I use a Philips FW545C (Manual here http://download.p4c.philips.com/files/f/fw545c_22/fw545c_22_pss_eng.pdf) to power them..

I want to eventually get a receiver and 5.1 or 7.1 speakers but I wish to keep these speakers as well (If they are any good??)

Are there any receivers out there that can power 5.1 or 7.1 speakers as well as having a 2.0 channel that J River can see to I can setup two zones with a 7.1 (Or 5.1) zone and a 2.0 zone? I don't need two receivers for this right?

Thanks

JimH

• Administrator
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: A good receiver for these speakers
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 06:46:32 am »

Consider using Zone Switch.  See the wiki on Zones for more information.

MrHaugen

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2013, 06:57:21 am »

I have very little experience with receivers, and bad technical insight, but I did come over this one the other day:
Onkyo TX-NR616. That one, and the bigger brother 717 has some extra zones. By reducing the channels to 5.1, you're able to use two of the other channels as two completely separate systems. I think the 717 receiver might be able to run two extra zones. I'm not sure if 7.1 surround is available with the extra zones. It might be.