INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do I replace a faulty FLAC file with a better copy from another album?  (Read 1207 times)

baldo

• World Citizen

I have a faulty rip from Album 1 called file 10.

I have another version of that track in Album 2 called file 7.

I deleted file 10 and copied file 7 into the folder for Album 1 and then renamed it file 10.

But when I try to play that file in Album 1 it is not there. I tried to edit the Meta data renaming Album 2 to Album 1 but I still only see it associated with Album 2.

I appreciate that this might be a very strange request, I am new to all this FLAC stuff, I am ripping my CDs into FLAC onto a hard disc and want to be able t play the same albums as I did as CDs.

Many thanks for your help in advance.
Baldo

Vocalpoint

• Citizen of the Universe

I have a faulty rip from Album 1 called file 10.

I have another version of that track in Album 2 called file 7.

I deleted file 10 and copied file 7 into the folder for Album 1 and then renamed it file 10.

But when I try to play that file in Album 1 it is not there. I tried to edit the Meta data renaming Album 2 to Album 1 but I still only see it associated with Album 2.

I appreciate that this might be a very strange request, I am new to all this FLAC stuff, I am ripping my CDs into FLAC onto a hard disc and want to be able t play the same albums as I did as CDs.

Many thanks for your help in advance.
Baldo

What I do for this situation is "leave" the bad track where it is - in MC's library - and then copy the new target "over" the old one via Windows Explorer - When Windows asks to overwrite - say yes.

Then in MC - you must run Auto-Import for it to recognize and adjust for the change.