INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What does JRiver Media Center do?  (Read 4516 times)

Moosbrugger

What does JRiver Media Center do?
« on: August 24, 2013, 06:30:04 pm »

What does JRiver Media Center do?
I'm new to audiophile digital.  I've been streaming iTunes through an Apple TV into my Peachtree for years.  I don't know much about what's going on in the system, just that it was working and I was pretty happy with the sound.  (Totem Hawk speakers.)  I just started reading about media servers, hifi streamers, etc. I dont' really get what all the devices do.  (For example, "media server" seems to refer to both software that I download on my computer or a separate device on which I may or may not load all of my media files.)

then I came across some very positive mentions of JRiver MC.  I've been reading the forum a bit, but I'm still stumped with the basic questions.  What does it do?  So . . .

Audio:  I get the idea that MC will take my iTunes library and make a duplicate in the MC format.  I can use that to stream my music?  Still through my Apple Tv?  (Or what do I need to get the music to my amp?)  Will the music sound better?

Video:  Does MC look for movies/videos I have on my hard drive and help me play them on my computer?  Will it play them to my tv?  Does MC do anything with, say, Netflix streaming to my tv?  

Sorry, I know this is probably silly.  but I'm reminded of when I first taught my dad how to use a home computer back in the mid-90s. I said, "double click on the AOl icon."  He said, "what's double-click?  What's an Icon."  

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: What does JRiver Media Center do?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 06:45:08 pm »

Welcome.

Not to belittle your question, but....

Have you been here?
http://www.jriver.com/index.html

kensn

• MC Beta Team