INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Most video playback stutters  (Read 4392 times)

Simon Chick

• Recent member
Most video playback stutters
« on: August 25, 2013, 06:59:07 am »

I have been using JRiver for a few years now as my primary music playback program, and have been ever happier with its functionality and performance in that time.

I have also been looking forward to having a rich interface to pick video content in just the way I pick music. I wasn't very impressed with an early version for video I tried in MC (can't recall which one), so decided to wait while it matured and then have another go.

Emboldened by an email from you a few months suggesting that MC was now the best video streamer available, I figured it was time to try again.

After a pretty short learning curve I figured out how to control the movie info look-up, remove wrong data, and substitute more appropriate cover art where necessary. I also learned to overcome the initial playback preference to show a wrong aspect ratio.

What I have not been able to cure is an invariable stuttering, audio and video, when playing back DVD files (.ifo) and Blu-rays (.iso). I tried converting some of the ripped DVDs to mkv, and I also tried re-ripping the same disks direct to mkv. Neither made any noticeable difference to the problem. mpg and avi files generally do play OK.

On exactly the same PC from exactly the same source, all the dvd rips play flawlessly in both PowerDVD and VLC, and the Blu-ray isos play fine in PowerDVD too

All files are stored on an 8 drive Synology NAS, and delivered by a wired gigabit network to a Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit PC, Intel i5 2.7 GHz processor, 8 GB RAM. The PC does nothing except media streaming and some internet browsing. The only antivirus is Windows Security Essentials. I am running JRMC18.0.212.