INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NAS hardwire question  (Read 3850 times)

Boyotk

• Recent member
NAS hardwire question
« on: September 27, 2013, 03:38:16 pm »

Is it possible to use a NAS device (Synology DS 213) to store/play MC library from via ethernet cable between NAS and computer? I have only wireless internet access...no router. I understand that there are some processing benefits to playing files from an external drive. I am completely new to computer audio, so please forgive if this question is rudimentary.
Thanks in advance,
Boyotk

MrC

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: NAS hardwire question
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2013, 04:01:45 pm »

Yes, but you should minimally place a Switch in between your two devices.  Ethernet cards and drivers aren't very good at performing the same tasks as a switch, so you may experience troubles.

You'd store your media files on the NAS, and configure MC to find the files there.

Welcome to computer audio!
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Boyotk

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2013, 04:05:02 pm »

Thank you for your reply.
As a complete noobie...how is a switch configured/incorporated?
Thanks,

MrC

• Your life is short. Give me your money.
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2013, 04:21:25 pm »

Just connect Ethernet cables from each computer to a port on the switch:

The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Al ex

Re: AW: Re: NAS hardwire question
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2013, 02:24:57 pm »

Yes, but you should minimally place a Switch in between your two devices.  Ethernet cards and drivers aren't very good at performing the same tasks as a switch, so you may experience troubles.

You'd store your media files on the NAS, and configure MC to find the files there.

Welcome to computer audio!