INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: cd ripping  (Read 2029 times)

RCAal

• Recent member
cd ripping
« on: October 01, 2013, 01:31:10 pm »

im new to mc.  i interested in what is the best format to rip cd's in.  i have previously ripped my collection, about 1500 cd's, in windows media uncompressed wav.  mc has imported all those files but i notice that it has multiple format choices for ripping and i was wondering what the highest quality is?  im not interested in compressed files.  i have installed an asus essence stx audio card in my computer and use an antelope zodiac dac.

MrC

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: cd ripping
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2013, 02:05:28 pm »

If you don't want compressed files, you've answered your own question - WAV.

But I think you mean you don't want LOSSY files; in that case, use a format that is loss-less such as FLAC, or APE, or ALAC - these all compress the data without loss of quality.
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

astromo

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2013, 04:52:09 am »

im new to mc.  i interested in what is the best format to rip cd's in.  i have previously ripped my collection, about 1500 cd's, in windows media uncompressed wav.  mc has imported all those files but i notice that it has multiple format choices for ripping and i was wondering what the highest quality is?  im not interested in compressed files.  i have installed an asus essence stx audio card in my computer and use an antelope zodiac dac.

"Best" depends on defined criteria. Work out the characteristics of the digital audio media that you value and the result will fall out by default.

If you don't want compressed files, you've answered your own question - WAV.