INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Please help playing to various areas of the house.  (Read 1409 times)

Dewd

• Recent member
Please help playing to various areas of the house.
« on: July 03, 2014, 03:04:27 am »

Hey there.

I've been using MC for about 7 years now to manage my music only.  Not even sure what version I'm on now - Just been using what works for me.  Obviously will be upgrading to the latest in this process.

I've kept it on a central PC and just played directly from there.  Some 2 and a half years ago, I got my first Android phone and started using Gizmo.  All cool.

Now here's the thing.  I want to finally get this system working the way I want.   I've had a brief look around this forum and only succeeded in confusing myself by reading topics that looked like the right one, but turned out to not be.  Below, I'm going to outline what I want to achieve.  Please point me in the right direction as to where I can find the right info.  I am no tech expert, but I do have a slightly better than average understanding of this stuff, but clearly still have a lot to learn.

Objectives :
  • All media stored on a central PC (done)
  • Set up three areas within the house (Lounge, TV Room, Entertainment Area)
  • I want the same thing to be played on all three areas at the same time - can't really see a reason to split that up, but I want to be able to control the volume in all three zones independently of each other - preferably from a central mobile interface, like my phone or tablet ( not having to schlep back to the PC to do it).  Maybe even turn different areas off and on remotely.
  • At some stage, I would like to be able to play my movie library to the TV, but that is no rush, I want to sort the audio thing out first, but want to keep that in mind when setting stuff now.