INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sennheiser HDVD 800  (Read 5607 times)

Greyish

Sennheiser HDVD 800
« on: July 08, 2014, 02:11:15 am »

A quick question from a total newbie please: What setting should I use for best sound quality?

I’m using JRiver for playing CDs only.

My setup: Sennheiser HDVD 800 amp/dac hooked via USB to a good PC laptop (I use Sennheiser HD 800 headphones)

HDVD 800 handles sampling frequencies of up to 24-bit/192kHz

So, under ‘audio device’ I selected ‘HDVD 800 ASIO Driver’

Under ‘output encoding’ I selected ‘none’ (when I tried any of the DSD options, JRiver stopped playing - apparently HDVD 800 doesn’t support DSD – is it true and would I get better sound quality with DSD and if so which of the DSD options should I select?)

Under ‘sample rate’ I selected 192,000 Hz for all ‘output’ (is this correct?). I use JRiver for playing CDs only. Under ‘audio path’ it now shows ‘input 44.1Hz 16 bit’ (from CD) and ‘output 192 kHz 32 bit’ Is this correct for best sound quality?   

I didn’t select Headphones crossfeed (should I select it?)

Under ‘channels’ I selected ‘source number of channels’ and thus ‘no upmixing and downmixing’

Any other tips how to increase sound quality will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot.

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Sennheiser HDVD 800
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014, 06:11:26 am »

when I tried any of the DSD options, JRiver stopped playing - apparently HDVD 800 doesn’t support DSD – is it true and would I get better sound quality with DSD and if so which of the DSD options should I select?
If it doesn't support DSD, you don't enable any of the DSD options.

Under ‘sample rate’ I selected 192,000 Hz for all ‘output’ (is this correct?). I use JRiver for playing CDs only. Under ‘audio path’ it now shows ‘input 44.1Hz 16 bit’ (from CD) and ‘output 192 kHz 32 bit’ Is this correct for best sound quality?