INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: COM Interface Missing  (Read 1871 times)

mhwlng

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • nothing more to say...
COM Interface Missing
« on: August 24, 2014, 06:26:33 am »

After updating from 19 -> 20, the COM automation interface seems to be gone for me ?
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42029
  • Shoes gone again!
COM Interface Missing
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2014, 04:10:33 pm »

After updating from 19 -> 20, the COM automation interface seems to be gone for me ?

It should be in MC20 exactly the same as it's in MC19.  The code is shared between the versions and nothing has changed in this area.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

mhwlng

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • nothing more to say...
COM Interface Missing
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2014, 04:12:48 pm »

It's not working for me anymore.
I tried on two PC's.
I installed MC20 then uninstalled MC19
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10772
COM Interface Missing
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2014, 07:11:31 am »

Just run the program once with that, it should fix whatever needs fixing, and hopefully run properly the next time around without this.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

mhwlng

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • nothing more to say...
COM Interface Missing
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2014, 07:53:22 am »

Quote
Try Right Click -> Run as Administrator

I just tried that, and restarted MC several times. that doesn't fix my COM interface problem....
Logged

mhwlng

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • nothing more to say...
COM Interface Missing
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2014, 05:00:43 am »

Quote
After updating from 19 -> 20, the COM automation interface seems to be gone for me ?

I re-ran the installer with 'run as administrator' (without uninstalling V20) and now the COM object is there....

So that fixed my problem.

Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: COM Interface Missing
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2014, 04:12:10 pm »

It needs to register the COM server, and depending on the OS that may need admin rights.

Hendrik, perhaps the installer should always prompt to install as admin?
Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: COM Interface Missing
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2014, 05:15:17 pm »

Do you have UAC disabled via some trickery?

It should always prompt to be elevated, when installed, and whenever run and not already registered.  That's why when you switch back and forth between major versions, you get the UAC prompt each time.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10772
Re: COM Interface Missing
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2014, 01:07:32 am »


Hendrik, perhaps the installer should always prompt to install as admin?


It does, how else would you install in Program Files anyway.

We can't really support people that turn UAC off, mostly because its just a bad idea.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

mhwlng

  • Regular Member
  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • nothing more to say...
Re: COM Interface Missing
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2014, 01:48:34 am »

I do have UAC turned off.

When I need to perform a configuration task that requires admin privileges, I do this (c#):

Code: [Select]
   
static bool IsAdmin()
{
  WindowsIdentity id = WindowsIdentity.GetCurrent();
  WindowsPrincipal principal = new WindowsPrincipal(id);
  return principal.IsInRole(WindowsBuiltInRole.Administrator);
}


[STAThread]
static void Main()
{
....
....

  if ((System.Environment.OSVersion.Version.Major >= 6) && (!IsAdmin()))  // Windows Vista or higher
  {
    log.Info("Restarting with Elevated Permission.");
    ProcessStartInfo processInfo = new ProcessStartInfo();
    if (System.Environment.OSVersion.Version.Major >= 6)  // Windows Vista or higher
    {
      processInfo.Verb = "runas";
    }
    else
    {
      // No need to prompt to run as admin
    }
    processInfo.UseShellExecute = true;
    processInfo.WorkingDirectory = Path.GetDirectoryName(Assembly.GetAssembly(typeof(Program)).Location);
    processInfo.FileName = Assembly.GetAssembly(typeof(Program)).Location;
    processInfo.Arguments = commandline;
    try
    {
      Process.Start(processInfo);
    }
    catch
    {
      log.Info("Failed to Start " + processInfo.FileName + " With Elevated permission.");
    }
    return;
  }
  else
  {
    log.Info("Elevated Permission Detected.");
    // do elevated stuff
  }
...
...
}
This works fine with both UAC off and on (then it prompts for a password)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up