INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Downmixing but no upmixing pls?  (Read 2622 times)

Stormen

• Recent member
Downmixing but no upmixing pls?
« on: August 31, 2014, 05:55:38 am »

Hi
I'm pretty new to JRiver and I've searched for a solution but couldnt find any. Perhaps you can help me out.
I've got a htpc in my livingroom win 8.1 and running lynx two B audiocard with 2 channels in front to my hornspeakers and 2 surroundchannels directly to amps.
I use Wasapi.
When I playback a movie a want that downmixed to 4 channels (so the center track is mixed to the front L+R speakers)
So far so good. It works great.
But when I playback a 2-channel track (all music) its upmixed to 4 channel and there is sound in the surroundspeakers. And that is not wanted at all. A 2 track is a 2 track :-)
I just simply switch of the amps to the surroundspeakers. But is there any serrings or plugins for downmixing only?

Arindelle

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Downmixing but no upmixing pls?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2014, 07:54:37 am »

have you set up zones for these 2 playback options?

I believe this should be pretty easy to set up, if not -- Have to zones available (create them if needed) go to Audio Setting for the 4 channel - check the audio settings and DSP studio Output settings. CHanging the zone selector on the top of audio settings in options, repeat, setting output format to 2 channel and your choice of mixing settings (or none).  You can even make a "zone switch rule" so that it will toggle between the two depending on media type if you want.

Not having a  lynx card, there might be some other tweak to do, but I don't think so .. MWilliams is an expert at these kind of cards

Stormen

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2014, 11:49:35 am »

Great! . Havent thought about the zone setting possibilities. I'll try it out !

Stormen

• Recent member