INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Downmix/Upmix + Digital XO + Convolution + Room Correction  (Read 9020 times)

hurz

• Recent member
Downmix/Upmix + Digital XO + Convolution + Room Correction
« on: October 16, 2014, 04:39:34 am »

Hi everyone,

as a longtime XBMC and miniDSP user I'm pretty new to all the audio possibilities that JRiver MC offers and after combing throw several threads on individual parts of my requirements I'm still puzzled how I should best configure my planned and a little complicated setup.

I'm currently working on a DIY update of my whole audio gear to achieve the following setup:
Source: HTPC (a NUC) + 7.1 Soundcard/DAC (Asus Xonar U7) + 8-ch amp  (possibly a USBtoI2S interface and dedicated 8ch DAC in the future)
ext. Sources: TV/external device via soundcard input, possibly Foobar/Browser or other apps via loopback
Speakers: Front L/R + Rear L/R, with fully active 3-way Dipole/OB Fronts (20hz to 20Khz), so a 4.0 channel setup using an amped 8-ch output.

1) Regarding the output format I probably have to use 7.1 to make use of all outputs of my sound card?
So how/where would I best configure the Downmix of multichannel sources (5.1 / 7.1)?
As far as I can see, I could use the Room Correction plugin to do the correct bass management but for moving the Center to the Fronts and especially doing the digital XO (plus assigning the correct sound card outputs to Low/Mid/High) will I have to use the PEQ or can all this be done in Room Correction?
What about correctly Upmixing Stereo to 4.0? JRSS will introduce silent channels (e.g. for a subwoofer) that I'll have to overwrite with the XO setup?
Basically all bass should go to the low end of the Fronts, so LFE to both, bass end of the rears to respective front (though I can also keep the rears full-range).