INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: server/client MC install...never done, quick Q  (Read 1519 times)

ferday

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
server/client MC install...never done, quick Q
« on: November 03, 2014, 12:43:16 pm »

i've never done multiple MC installs before, but a smoking deal on a new computer has me moving to a dedicated HTPC/desktop workstation combo in the next few days (i currently just use one desktop)

i would like to have the main MC running off the new PC and have the HTPC as a client, but would like to do tagging operations, etc. from the client likely most often, but still have the option to do some file management while i'm on the workstation

is there any tips/anything i should know configuration wise right off the jump, to help eliminate some painful forum searching?

thanks

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: server/client MC install...never done, quick Q
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 12:55:09 pm »

Things I wished I knew about library server setup before I started:

1) Some tagging/library maintenance activities can only easily be done from the server:

a) Adding/Changing cover art
b) Changing library views or theater view schemes
c) Renaming files/Changing the location of files on a disc from inside MC
d) Importing new items into the library
e) Ripping CDs

And I'm sure there are a few others.  There are workarounds for some of these: you can use remote desktop software like Teamviewer to do 1,2,3, and 4.  You can use a separate special purpose "maintenance" local library on a client to do 1, 3, and 5, and then move the files to folders on the server (see 2.b below for how that might work).  But generally, if neither box will be headless and all other things are equal, make the server the box that's easier for you to get face-time in front of, it will make your life easier  ;D