INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DSD file Playback sound weird  (Read 4519 times)

s54yellow

• Recent member
DSD file Playback sound weird
« on: February 17, 2015, 08:50:24 am »

Dear members,

I am new to JRiver. I am running JRiver on my iMac with i5 core CPU on Yosemite OS, my DAC is Korg DAC-100, both claims support DSD playback.

The software running well on non-DSD file, but when I play DSD file, the sound with some noise. I have update the software to 20.0.067, problem still exist. Can let me know what's wrong?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Andy

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: DSD file Playback sound weird
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 11:07:38 am »

Try a few different DSD files in case you just have a bad one.

Configuring resampling in DSP Studio > Output Format is the only thing to do, but if you hear anything, that means it's working fine.

You should try forcing a sample rate of 44,100 just as a test.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

s54yellow

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2015, 08:03:17 am »

Thanks for your reply. The problem not yet fixed. The following are the action I did and the symptoms may help you to diagnosis the problem.

(1) I tried to play another 4-5 albums, encounter same problem.
(2) 2 scenarios when I play those DSF files, (a) the music played with a lot of background noise, (b) no sound at all
(3) The sound is normal when I resample them to 44.1 HZ
(4) On Audio Path window, it show that (a) the input is 352.8kHz 64 bit 2ch from source format DSF, (b) the output is 44.1kHz 32 bit 2ch using Core Audio (not using enough bits to output the input directly)

JimH

• Administrator
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2015, 08:13:34 am »

Try resampling to higher bitrates to see what else will work.