INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC working in tandm with dbpoweramp  (Read 2308 times)

wdesbrow

• World Citizen
MC working in tandm with dbpoweramp
« on: March 03, 2015, 01:53:32 pm »

I am a newbie and have just started to rip my CD collection onto a NAS drive using dbpoweramp.  I noticed that there are 6 or 7 "standard" data fields in db that populate automatically.  I am just about to purchase MC 20 and was wondering if I will see all of those fields after I retrieve a file with MC.  Also, I added a field called "Comment" in db, thinking that "Comment" would then continue to be seen in all subsequent files.  But it is not; I've had to add it every time I rip a new CD. (?)  Thanks all!

Frobozz

• Citizen of the Universe
  • There is a small mailbox here.
Re: MC working in tandm with dbpoweramp
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2015, 02:37:42 am »

JRiver Media Center can work in tandem with dBpoweramp.  No problems.  JRiver Media Center can read and display any of the tag fields that dBpoweramp writes to files it rips.

Some of the tags that dBpoweramp writes are not standard tags that JRiver Media Center already knows about.  JRiver Media Center can be configured to display those tags, but you have to tell MC what those tags are so it knows to read that tag and to display it.

Here's the wiki page on Library Fields (a.k.a. tags): http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Library_Fields
The Manage Library Fields dialog is where you tell MC about which tags you want it to read or write from the files.  That is the dialog where you add new tags.  Add a new tag with the exact same name as the tag that dBpoweramp writes and MC will then be able to read in that tag.

The Comment field that dBpoweramp writes is a standard field.  MC already knows about that standard field and should display what you entered in that field when you ripped the CD in dBpoweramp.