INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Streaming question - Volume.  (Read 4403 times)

Jhexp

• Recent member
Streaming question - Volume.
« on: May 03, 2015, 09:38:30 pm »

Hi, first post :)

PC audio noob here.

I recently got a pair of KEF X300A Wireless speakers. I managed to get wireless streaming up and running using MC through DNLA. My question is, my speakers are powered and can play up to 24/96. They have a gain selector but when I stream music the gain selector is rendered useless, it's being bypassed. Is there a setting in MC that I'm missing? Also, the DPS studio won't work when I play music wirelessly. "Not using jriver audio engine" I had settings I liked when I had the speakers connected to the pc via the USB connection, now that it's wireless I can't use the DPS studio.

Thanks.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Streaming question - Volume.
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 06:39:31 am »

Welcome to the forum.  MC has several volume types.  You can right click on the speaker icon in the upper left corner to see them. 

With DLNA, you would normally control volume on the device you're playing to.  I think this is what you're hoping to do.  If it isn't working, it's possible the problem is with the device.

Jhexp

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2015, 11:49:27 pm »

Thanks for the reply. There must be a setting in MC I'm missing as the device I'm using, the KEF speakers,  are working fine. When wired straight into the PC the volume control on the speakers work, when its wireless they don't.

Vincent Kars

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2015, 05:56:26 am »

USB or wireless are completely different.

In case of USB, the Kef manifest itself as a audio device just like the onboard audio of your PC. It is just another sound card. Hence all DSP like volume control will work.