INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Best" Audio Settings  (Read 5603 times)

1BusyDad

• Recent member
"Best" Audio Settings
« on: May 11, 2015, 05:08:29 pm »

Hi All.  I'm VERY new to computerized music servers, so I'd like to take advantage of your experiences.  I have a new Toshiba laptop and am using MC20.  I started ripping CDs using the FLAC format and was able to listen to songs through the computer's speakers that I saved in a playlist, but my goal is to play the music through my stereo system.  My current set up is computer via usb to Teac UD-501 DAC through analog output to Mcintosh MHT 200.  After some trials and tribulations downloading the driver for the Teac, I was finally able to get the music through to the speakers.  My questions are: 1) Are there audio settings other than the default settings within MC20 that I should use to optimize the sound?  I set the Teac to upsample the signal to 192.  And 2) I am backing up the music folder where all the CDs have been saved, but is my playlist also saved?  If not, how might I save it?  Sorry, as you can probably tell, I'm also VERY technologically challenged!  Thank you in advance!

kstuart

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Upgraded to MC22 Master using preorder discount
Re: "Best" Audio Settings
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2015, 08:27:10 pm »

Why are you upsampling to 192 ?

( Also, IMHO, the Teac has a rather crude analog output section that is way below the standard of the McIntosh - assuming that is made to the same standards as their earlier gear. )

1BusyDad

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2015, 09:27:43 pm »

To tell you the truth, I don't really know.  This may sound stupid, but I figured the higher the number, the better.  I've read where the "hi-rez" files are 192 so I thought why not give it a try.  Maybe like upsampling to 1080P for Blu-Ray?

kstuart