INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: jrmc and amahi  (Read 5927 times)

nickolsj

• Junior Woodchuck
  • nothing more to say...
jrmc and amahi
« on: August 10, 2015, 12:00:15 am »

I am looking to move from windows home server (2003) to amahi.  I have zero experience with amahi and a small amount of experience with Linux.  Before I attempt to do so I want to be sure I am, in some form or another able to access media from amahi within jrmc.  Would prefer to install jrmc on amahi to use its built-in media network capabilities.  Has anyone installed jrmc on amahi?  How difficult is it?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: jrmc and amahi
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2015, 06:12:26 am »

I am looking to move from windows home server (2003) to amahi.  I have zero experience with amahi and a small amount of experience with Linux.  Before I attempt to do so I want to be sure I am, in some form or another able to access media from amahi within jrmc.  Would prefer to install jrmc on amahi to use its built-in media network capabilities.  Has anyone installed jrmc on amahi?  How difficult is it?
If you have no Linux experience, it would be best to start with Debian.

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2015, 07:50:07 am »

If you have no Linux experience, it would be best to start with Debian.

Seconded.  The easiest way to run JRiver on Linux is with Debian.

I've never heard of amahi (and I haven't seen anyone mention it on the forums before), but it looks like one of those "web interface only" type custom linux setups that hides the guts of what's going on from the user.  Those can be nice if you want to do exactly what they're made for, but if you want to customize them (say by running JRiver) they can be a real pain.