INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What do I loose using a DLNA server instead of MC21 Server?  (Read 3782 times)

rldoose

• Recent member

Hello all,
I have been using JRiver for many years and love it!  Recently I turned a very capable but retired desktop into a FreeNAS server.  That is up and running very well.  In addition to the built in capabilities, I have been able to install several Linux programs in FreeNAS "Jails".  I can pretty much install anything in a Jail, including complete other OS instances.

My current quandary is do I go to the trouble of installing a JRiver compatible OS in a jail and install JRiver server on top of that, or do I go with something easier like Plex?  Plex I already have installed (took about 20 min), but I have not yet tried using it as the back end for my JR front end.   Getting JR to run on my FreeNAS box, thought certainly doable, is a much bigger undertaking.  But all this is a hobby of sorts so I don't mind investing the time if there are truly benefits.  

I'm presently running MC21 Server on my home PC which is a Surface Pro 1 (using my NAS as the file repository), but finding the performance poor using JRemote on my iPhone, or MC as a client on my work PC (Surface Pro 3).  I get lots of drop outs, and very pregnant pauses between tracks, starting MC as a client, performing library functions, etc.  I'm pretty sure the NAS is not the issue as it is connected to the Surface via Gigabit ethernet, and file access and transfers are very fast.  And the Surface 1 is no slouch, or should not be for these purposes.  i5, 8Gb Ram, and running unloaded when I'm accessing it remotely.

But, I'm hoping that running MC server on the much more powerful NAS would provide a performance boost, as well as plenty of room for all my media, the security of the ZFS filesystem, remote access to everything, etc.