INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Focusrite or Presonus...decisions, decisions  (Read 10268 times)

rocksteady40

• Recent member
Focusrite or Presonus...decisions, decisions
« on: February 06, 2016, 06:58:14 am »

Hello All,

I'm just getting started with JRiver MC and am amazed at what it can do.  I'm looking to use it in a 3 way (plus 2 subs) active speaker system to provide crossover and equalization functions.  From what I've read, MC has everything needed to do this. 

My primary usage is 2 channel stereo but am planning on expanding to 5.1 surround for HT.  I'll probably use the computer/MC to drive the main speakers and a receiver for all the video and surround functions.  I'll be using a 2GHz i7 laptop with 6G of RAM running Win 7.

What I need now is an 8 channel DAC.  I've narrowed down the search to either the Focusrite 18i20 or the Presonus 1818VSL.  These two are nearly identical in features and specs. (at least for what I need), but would like some inputs from others as to any pros/cons of each when using them with MC. 

I'd hate the decision to come down to the major difference between the two… the location of the power switch  :)

Thanks in Advance,
Bob

Hendrik

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Focusrite or Presonus...decisions, decisions
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2016, 07:12:47 am »

Both myself and Matt run a Focusrite 18i20, and we're both happy with it. Don't know the other one, so can't draw up any comparisons.
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

rocksteady40

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2016, 09:38:24 am »

Thanks for the quick reply. That's very encouraging that it works well for the both of you.  Good to know that an admin has one and is happy with it. I may go with the Focusrite then. 

thezone

• Galactic Citizen
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2016, 04:38:13 am »