INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Client/Server Functionality  (Read 7962 times)

Doozer

• Recent member
Client/Server Functionality
« on: May 10, 2016, 04:10:39 pm »

I setup home automation systems for a living and have been using JRiver for a very long time. I find that JRiver is very easy to integrate into larger automation systems from the likes of Crestron and RTI.

Many of my clients consider themselves audiophiles, so they gravitate to JRiver. However, most of the complaints I get come from the client/server functionality. They all complain that it is too hard to setup multiple user accounts. I was experimenting with making a plugin to allow a JRiver to function as an Emby client, but haven't had the time and Emby's music feature set is lacking.

glynor

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Client/Server Functionality
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 04:17:00 pm »

However, most of the complaints I get come from the client/server functionality. They all complain that it is too hard to setup multiple user accounts.

It may be useful to know what, specifically, you find lacking in MC's Users support.

Also, I'd be very interested to know what kind of Crestron integration you've developed. Do you have a module you'd be willing to share? I have about 60 series 3 Crestrons of various types here I play with and would be curious to see what you've done.
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

eddyshere

• Galactic Citizen
Re: Client/Server Functionality
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2016, 05:53:04 am »

I have installed / used for myself / several drivers coded by doozer for RTI systems (and they are brilliant).
Automation guys struggle to bring a JRemote-like experience from within the automation system. RTI for example doesn't have an official JRiver driver.