INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver Media Center 21 and Raspberry Pi USB audio woes...  (Read 5407 times)

jdb2

• Recent member
JRiver Media Center 21 and Raspberry Pi USB audio woes...
« on: September 08, 2016, 03:34:50 pm »

I've been running JRiver Media Center on Raspberry Pis since December 2014, when I got a Raspberry Pi 1 Model B+ for Christmas. I eventually upgraded the SD card to a 16GB Sandisk class 10 card and I moved the root filesystem off onto a Patriot memory USB flash drive. I was primarily using the Pi as a media server, as, I was running JRiver Media Center 20 on the Pi. The Pi was connected via a USB cable to a Schiit Modi 2 Uber and that was connected to a Schiit Magni 2 Uber which was then connected to a Behringer XENYX 502 mixer and then, finally, the main out of the mixer was connected to my two M-Audio BX8 full-range studio monitor speakers.

For months, things were going good, and I listened to music being played from my pi without any problems, even when I was streaming music from a Windows CIFS share via JRiver Media Center. Then, some time ago, when the RPi was still using the Linux ARM 3.x.x kernels, I updated either my kernel or firmware or both and then I got continuous audio hissing, popping, clicking and distortion. I tried just about everything including installing a real time kernel, but nothing seemed to help. I then bought an RPi 2 Model B but the problems persisted. I tried RaspFi, Kodi media center, OpenELEC and others but the USB audio problems persisted. What was strange though, was that if I streamed via DLNA from JRiver Media Center 21 to a DLNA rendering device, like my bluray player, from my pi, and I switched the input on my Schiit Modi 2 uber to the digital coax output of my bluray player, I'd hear no distortion at all.