INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to Sync from Server to MC22  (Read 2828 times)

farmersagent

How to Sync from Server to MC22
« on: December 11, 2016, 12:00:06 pm »

Please forgive me for asking a newbie question, but I AM a newbie and not super technical savvy.  I have searched the forum for issues relating to library sync and can't find an answer plain enough that I can understand.

I have a WD My Book Live 3TB HD that serves as network storage connected to an Asus router that I access wirelessly with a Windows 10 PC.  All of my music, mostly mp3 files, is located in a folder on the WD MBL HD.

I downloaded MC22 to my W10 PC and through the initial library setup import function I pointed MC to the folder on the WD hard drive that contains the music.  It imported the files correctly and they became known as the "Main Library" in MC.  After looking through the Album/Artist list in MC I noticed that there were a few tracks that had duplicates and a few tracks that had no title or artist, etc. 

I went to the music folder on the WD HD and deleted the duplicate tracks and filled in the missing properties on the files.  I have since restarted the computer and reopened MC.  The files on the hard drive are updated just the way that I changed them but MC still shows the duplicate tracks and tracks with no properties.

My question is, does MC update itself from the original file location in an automatic fashion, in a manual fashion, or does it get updates from the storage device at all?  I do see under the main library tools the "Sync Library" option, but that seems like it will send changes from MC to the HD and not the other way around.