INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Converting MC Win Setup To Linux, Synology  (Read 5935 times)

Zhillsguy

• Galactic Citizen
Converting MC Win Setup To Linux, Synology
« on: May 19, 2017, 07:46:48 am »

An acquaintance of mine has a Synology server with a Windows share set up with all of his music on it, with a dedicated Windows laptop to play music (only) from the share using MC. He uses an I-Pad w/JRemote to control the laptop player, never touching the laptop unless reboot or other action is needed.

He is currently having issues with the little W10 laptop (good ol' updates, etc), and I would like to eventually convert his laptop to Linux for long term stability.

I am relatively new to Linux but have successfully installed Mint 18 and Ubuntu with MC a few times. I have  researched connecting with Windows shares via SMB, but can't seem to find a user friendly way to do it, especially for permanent connection.

He is a computer novice and had the server and laptop set up by other folks. If any changes to the server (such as share type) are needed I am hoping documentation is available for passwords, etc.

Any advice for either accessing Windows shares using Mint permanently, or would it be easier to possibly convert the Synology share config to type NFS, CIFS, or other for Linux access?

Thanks.
Ryzen 5 W11 x64 MC 29 HTPC/Server and HP G2 Mini Elitedesk W11 MC 29 (music only zone), various Android Phones and Tablets for control of both, powering two lanai surround systems, 5.1 and 4.1 respectively.

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: Converting MC Win Setup To Linux, Synology
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2017, 08:34:54 am »