INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tagging in folders and sub-folders  (Read 2211 times)

samaritan

• Recent member
Tagging in folders and sub-folders
« on: July 15, 2017, 01:42:20 pm »

Hello - I'm new to MC and apologize if this has been addressed. I cannot find any topics, but please point me in the right direction if it's out there. What I want to know if it's possible to "sub tag" albums within a tagged folder. For example, I have The Cars Studio Album Collection from HDtracks. What I want to do is tag each individual album (ie. Candy-O, Heartbeat City, etc) but have it remain within the Cars Studio Album Collection directory if you will. My attempts to tag the individual albums just pulls them out as individual albums.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Tagging in folders and sub-folders
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2017, 02:01:51 pm »

Welcome to the forum.  You can add a custom tag.  The wiki has a topic on tags.

samaritan

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2017, 02:15:50 pm »

Welcome to the forum.  You can add a custom tag.  The wiki has a topic on tags.

Great thank you, if anyone has done something like this already - please post. I'm not really sure where to begin in custom tags to accomplish my goal.

blgentry

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2017, 03:12:16 pm »

I have a few album collections; very few.  For my use, I've mostly retagged all of the songs as the original albums.  Only the songs that are unique to the collection get left inside the "collection album".

But that's not what you are asking.  You are asking about having these songs be categorized in some way that allows you to see that they are part of the Cars Collection *and* their original album names.  MC is very flexible in the way that it shows song metadata.  You can really customize it in many ways.