INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)  (Read 1788 times)

alan967tiger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« on: May 16, 2018, 03:19:56 pm »

Hello
I've just connected my new AK70 to my laptop (Windows 7) and MC24. The AK70 does not show in the list of drives and devices and I cannot locate it in the Tools - Options tab.

The AK70 does show up in My Computer (so the cable must be ok?) and when I connect the AK70, a message reads "connected as a music device".
I have turned the laptop off and on and used all 3 USB ports but with no luck.

Can anyone help please? And sorry if this has been asked before, I did a search but could not locate the info.

TIA
Alan
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71603
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2018, 03:21:14 pm »

Please read the wiki topic called Audio Setup.  You need to select the device in the Audio settings.
Logged

alan967tiger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2018, 03:56:50 pm »

Please read the wiki topic called Audio Setup.  You need to select the device in the Audio settings.
Thanks, I've done that now but it's still not being recognised in the drives and devices. Do you know if it's normal for a new AK70 to require charging? Mine had no charge when it arrived. Maybe a faulty AK70?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71603
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2018, 06:12:27 pm »

Is it a DLNA device?  Or is it a USB DAC?  If the latter, it needs to be set in MC's audio settings.
Logged

alan967tiger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2018, 05:20:25 am »

Is it a DLNA device?  Or is it a USB DAC?  If the latter, it needs to be set in MC's audio settings.
It's the AK70 and it's not in DAC mode, it's set as a media player.

I've used a different lead but still no luck. It's not recognised in iTunes either. I've read the online manual and followed the instructions with no luck.

I bought this unit assuming it would work with MC24; maybe the unit is faulty but it might be MC24?
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10772
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2018, 05:41:28 am »

If you try to access it in Windows Explorer, does it actually show folders & files there?
Maybe it has a different mode to connect to the PC, other than "Music device"?
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

alan967tiger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2018, 06:01:34 am »

If you try to access it in Windows Explorer, does it actually show folders & files there?
Maybe it has a different mode to connect to the PC, other then "Music device"?
Thanks - yes, it shows in Windows Explorer and it contains folders etc. It only has 2 modes, media device and dac. Sorry, I thought you guys would know about AK products? I thought AK and JRiver were the same company?
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10772
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2018, 06:04:43 am »

No, we're not related to them.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71603
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2018, 06:40:49 am »

I think they were iriver.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71603
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: AK70 not recognised (MC 24)
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2018, 06:45:51 am »

It's the AK70 and it's not in DAC mode, it's set as a media player.
That sounds like "media player" is meant for a network connection, not a USB connection.  Try setting the AK to DAC mode.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up