INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cannot play through NAD 1050 DAC  (Read 2656 times)

eweedhome

• Recent member
Cannot play through NAD 1050 DAC
« on: June 24, 2018, 04:34:07 pm »

I am new to this whole thing.  I can get JRiver to play through my computer speakers.  I can get the NAD DAC to work fine on my desktop (which does not have JRiver).  When I try to get JRiver to play into the NAD, I keep getting the message:  Something went wrong with playback.  Details.  Playback could not be started on output ASIO using the format 44.1 KHz 2ch.  I have no clue what is going wrong.

I go to Player; Playback Option; Audio Device - and I can see that JRiver recognizes the "NAD USB ASIO Driver."   It's sitting right there, and I have told JRiver to play into that driver.  So what on earth is going wrong?

Many thanks.  So much of this is baffling to me.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Cannot play through NAD 1050 DAC
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2018, 04:48:16 pm »

Welcome to the forum.  Your ASIO driver may not be working with MC.  Try WASAPI.

Start here:
https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Audio_Setup

eweedhome

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2018, 09:50:50 pm »

Jim, thank you for your kind response.  After several hours of work today, here is the bizarre place in which things stand:

The NAD dac works fine with my desktop (Windows 10, lastest iteration, 1803).  While the NAD does not APPEAR to show up in the Sound Control Panel, the NAD is recognized by computer when I plug it into a USB port, and the signal goes into it just fine.  (Seems kind of odd, don't you think? - but that's what happens.)