INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trouble adding network share to library  (Read 1068 times)

snafu

• Recent member
Trouble adding network share to library
« on: June 25, 2019, 11:06:37 am »

First off, let me say that I'm by no means an expert on the Raspberry Pi. I just installed jriver media center 25 on it.
I've successfully mounted a network share that has my music (in my case: home/pi/music/test ). I can access the files from the command line and from the desktop on the pi. I also set the file permissions to everyone (chmod 777) for the entire directory.

In JMC, I go through the process to edit the main library to add the mount point (home/pi/music/test) via "Auto-import". It seems to go okay. I select ADD, and then Browse. I select the Test folder. But nothing happens after I click Finish. No files are imported. If I go through the steps again, the mount point I previously added are gone from the library list.

What am I doing wrong?
Sometimes I do get an error when selecting the folder about being unable to access it. I feel like this could still be a permissions issue. Who should the owner permissions be set for?

BryanC

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Trouble adding network share to library
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2019, 12:18:47 pm »

The owner permissions should usually be set to whomever is starting the MC process.

If that's you (and your user is pi), then make sure that your permissions are recursively set using chmod and chown:

Code: [Select]
sudo chown -R pi:pi ~/music/
sudo chmod -R 775 ~/music/

You may also have mounting permission errors depending on the filesystem and your specified mount options in /etc/fstab. Sometimes you need to umask permissions depending on the filesystem or allow non-root users to mount the filesystem using the "users" flag.

snafu

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2019, 12:56:11 pm »