INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Android Players for Classical Music and Smartlist Support  (Read 787 times)

Nicholas T

• Junior Woodchuck
Android Players for Classical Music and Smartlist Support
« on: August 25, 2019, 06:47:00 pm »

Hi,

I have been using PowerAmp for a few years but it's lacking in key areas for me. So, I'm looking for suggestions for more suitable Android music players.

My music library is mostly classical music and I need to be able to browse by Composer > Album. That's my bare minimum requirement for a player. However,  I would also really like to be able to create smart playlists that can use inclusion/exclusion logic on any tag.  E.g., WHERE Genre='Classical Piano' AND Period='Romantic' and then group the results by Composer, Artist or Album etc.  I don't want to always be presented with an extensive list of single tracks in a playlist. I might have 300 tracks of Mozart and I want to be able to group them into Album or Artist.

An Android version of JRiver Media Center would be great, but one that looks as nice as PowerAmp and is as easy to use. Yeah, I know I'm probably dreaming on that front!

At the moment, I'm having to prefix all tracks in JRiver with "Composer -", e.g., "Mozart - Sonata in D Major K..." so that in PowerAmp I can see the composer of the current track. Otherwise, the Composer is hidden away. It's seriously annoying that the Composer tag isn't displayed natively.

Is it possible to create smartlists / playlists in MC and then copy them over to my phone as a part of the sync process?

I also mostly listen to FLAC 96 kHz 24 bit and would like a player that can utilize that quality.

What are other classical music listeners using out there?

Cheers,

Nicholas

LGV40, Samsung Tab S7+ & Sony WH1000XM4 = some peace in the chaos.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?