INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Suddenly -- Duplicate Tracks  (Read 2143 times)

wdesbrow

• World Citizen
Suddenly -- Duplicate Tracks
« on: October 09, 2019, 08:14:14 am »

Greetings. 
I have a sudden problem with duplicate tracks appearing in almost all of the albums (1100?) in my MC Library.

I am still a tech beginner, but have been using Windows 10 MC23 for 2-3 years without a glitch until... I recently had a hard drive failure and in BOTH a new laptop and an existing desktop Windows machine my WDMyCLOUD EX2 NAS drive WAS visible, but  could not  access its shares -- including the MUSIC share, contained in which is a large MC library.  My computer tech located the shares and mapped two of the shares (I think the term is correct...) to the left margin nav on my Windows FILE EXPLORER page.   (So when I click on each one I go directly to that share.)  But when I started using MC again, I am finding duplicates of all tracks within most if not all, albums.

Needless to say, I need to get to the root cause of the problem (Don't know if these things are related) and correct it, then... delete all of the duplicates, hopefully in a group action.  The shortcut is labeled When I drilled down into the file listing in the library both the original and duplicates look ALIKE EXCEPT for the first few letters.  EXAMPLE --

\\WDMYCLOUDEX2\Music (NAME OF SHARE)  etc etc etc   (ORIGINAL LISTING)

Y:\(Album Name)\(Artist)\ (TRACK TITLE)\   etc etc etc

Please Help.  THANKS!

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Suddenly -- Duplicate Tracks
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2019, 08:48:00 am »

You're probably importing from both locations. 

Check your auto-import settings and correct them.

Search for either location and soft delete those files in MC.  Read carefully.  Try a few before you do very many.

wdesbrow