INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi-Res files with IdPi on Ras Pi 4B  (Read 3930 times)

ASenna1

• Junior Woodchuck
Hi-Res files with IdPi on Ras Pi 4B
« on: October 17, 2019, 12:51:43 am »

I'm currently using Volumio on a Ras Pi 3 (Ethernet) as a DLNA client, connecting my JRiver library to a Denon PMA-2500 via USB.

With this combo, 44.1/16 FLAC playback is flawless, but I do notice occasional drop-outs with higher resolution (above 44.1KHz) and higher bit-rate (24-bits) files.

Does anyone have experience with the IdPi-Ras Pi 4 combo in a similar setup with high-res files? Would switching to IdPi-Ras Pi 4 combo solve the drop-out problem I hear with my Volumio-Ras Pi 3 config?

MikeyFresh

• World Citizen
Re: Hi-Res files with IdPi on Ras Pi 4B
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2019, 06:32:49 pm »

I have no experience with that particular Denon unit, however I have used Pi3B, Pi3B+, and Pi4B with both Volumio, and Moode, and PCM up to 352.8kHz as well as DSD up to DSD128 plays back with zero drop out.

There can be many reasons why you'd hear drop outs, but the RPi version at least including RPi3B and newer should not make any difference, they all work well in terms of playback connected to a JRiver server.

In my experience you should use the server called Generic DLNA, don't use "24 Bit Audiophile" or whatever the heck it's called, and make sure it isn't defaulting to a server called L16, I actually delete that one because the program seems to want to always default to it.

ASenna1

• Junior Woodchuck
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2019, 07:37:08 pm »

Interesting on the Generic DNLA recommendation because I am now using the 'Audiophile 24-Bit DAC' option.  I'm going to make the switch tonight and take a listen.

Thanks for the suggestion!

MikeyFresh

• World Citizen
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2019, 08:44:45 pm »