INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Why Should I Buy Media Center?  (Read 1522 times)

marcerickson

• Recent member
Why Should I Buy Media Center?
« on: May 12, 2020, 10:18:16 pm »

I'm trying the trial version on Ubuntu Server 18.04 LTS with an xfce (Xubuntu) GUI.  (I come from the Windows world - don't hate me.   ;D )

I like the Volume Leveling feature. But the price for a Master Licence is over $112 CAD (despite the crappy exchange rate, our dollars have a similar purchasing power here to US dollars in the US).  That's a lot for me.  And it seems I have to repurchase it the next time a major version is released.  I'm not keen on that.

I don't want to learn about or think how the sound is processed - especially since I have some hearing loss.  I'm not an audio geek - I'm a music geek.  I was a musician in my youth and I want the most accurate reproduction of the music I play through my NAD amp (at least 25 years old now and still going strong) and a good pair of bookshelf speakers that my brother built (he's a speaker geek).  I have some movies and TV series on my server but it's mostly music - about 4 TB altogether including the movies and TV shows.

So what are some non-technical reasons to buy it?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Why Should I Buy Media Center?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2020, 10:36:22 pm »

You can skip upgrades, but they're discounted.

Here's why others have chosen JRiver:

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,96468.0.html

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2020, 10:40:38 pm »

Do you need a Master Licence? That gives you installations on all your Mac, Linux, and Windows PCs. If you will only be installing on a Linux PC, then maybe you only need the Linux licence? US$20 cheaper.