INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Id - swapping ssd to sshd  (Read 1820 times)

Dantos

• World Citizen
Id - swapping ssd to sshd
« on: December 18, 2020, 06:32:39 pm »

Hi
I recently bought an Id with internal 240GB SSD. In hindsight I should have gone for the 2TB internal drive option.

Can I simply buy a 2TB disk and swap them?

Is it a 7mm height SATA disk? Are SSHDs compatible?

Do I need to reconfigure anything to have it recognized as the "Internal Media" as seen on my network (please note I am a complete Linux newbie)

TIA

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Id - swapping ssd to sshd
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2020, 06:37:08 pm »

You could add an external USB drive.

Dantos

• World Citizen
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2020, 08:20:54 pm »

You could add an external USB drive.

I'm trying to avoid an external USB Drive. With over 1 TB of music to transfer it takes days (over a week) using usb and constant I/O errors with Allways sync. Even cloning/imaging program (Paragon and casper) 'drop out' and choke. I need a reliable and fast way to copy or clone large amounts of music files to an internally connected disk on my main pc, then physically reinstall that disk in the ID.

So, replace the ssd with a 7mm high 2.5" 2TB sshd and any OS re-configuring is automatic?

JimH

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2020, 09:58:00 pm »

I'm trying to avoid an external USB Drive. With over 1 TB of music to transfer it takes days (over a week) using usb and constant I/O errors with Allways sync.
I think that's way off. It should be a couple of hours or less with USB 3.0.

Dantos

• World Citizen
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2020, 12:24:54 am »

I think that's way off. It should be a couple of hours or less with USB 3.0.

Thanks for reply Jim