INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can't Get New Access Key  (Read 438 times)

Richard Martin

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Can't Get New Access Key
« on: January 18, 2024, 05:28:03 am »

I run MC as a server in docker on my NAS and connect from a Windows client.
I just upgraded the client to 32 but couldn't connect to the server using the Access Key.  I forget the exact message, but it wouldn't connect.  On the server, there was an option to reset the Access Key so I thought I would try that.  It now says "Access Key: Click for access from another Media Center, Gizmo, Web Remote or Web Play".
When I click nothing happens, so now I have no Access Key.

I have connected from the client using the IP address and port, from outside my network I should be able to connect with a URL and port but it would be nice to know what is happening and why I can't get an access key.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71472
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Can't Get New Access Key
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2024, 06:19:18 am »

Firewall or antivirus.
Logged

Richard Martin

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Re: Can't Get New Access Key
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2024, 06:51:35 am »

Firewall or antivirus.

All I did was upgrade the client to 32 and reset the access code on the server.  I haven't changed any firewall or antivirus settings.  I realise that 32 may need different expections to 31 on the Windows client, but it is working now. I have used an IP address and port instead of an access key to connect to the server.

My problem now is that when I try to generate a new access key on the server, where nothing has changed apart from resetting the access key, nothing happens.  Once I have a new access key, if that doesn't work on the client I will look at AV and firewall on the client.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71472
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Can't Get New Access Key
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2024, 07:00:26 am »

I just tested and was able to get a new Access Key.

This is something special on your machine.  Antivirus is the most likely. 
Logged

Richard Martin

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Re: Can't Get New Access Key
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2024, 12:23:58 pm »

I just tested and was able to get a new Access Key.

This is something special on your machine.  Antivirus is the most likely.

Nothing has changed on the server (shiomax docker 31.0.83 running on a Synology NAS).  After I couldn't connect from my Windows PC using the access key I just the reset access key option on the server and now nothing happens when I click the option to generate an access key).  Stopping AV and the Firewall on the NAS makes no difference.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71472
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Can't Get New Access Key
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2024, 12:25:00 pm »

Did you try rebooting both machines?
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7403
  • The color of Spring...
Re: Can't Get New Access Key
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2024, 12:35:29 pm »

If I had to guess, the Windows Firewall is blocking it at the MC32 server machine. Usually after installing a new MC version it prompts for network access when Media Network is enabled, did it do this? You can try disabling and re-enabling Media Network to see if it prompts for access or going into the Windows Firewall settings and making sure mediacenter32.exe is allowed with outbound and inbound connections for port 52199.
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/256GB NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | Edifier R2000DB Bookshelf Speakers | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

Richard Martin

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Re: Can't Get New Access Key
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2024, 12:41:25 pm »

If I had to guess, the Windows Firewall is blocking it at the MC32 server machine. Usually after installing a new MC version it prompts for network access when Media Network is enabled, did it do this? You can try disabling and re-enabling Media Network to see if it prompts for access or going into the Windows Firewall settings and making sure mediacenter32.exe is allowed with outbound and inbound connections for port 52199.

Did you try rebooting both machines?

The Windows client is working fine (and has been rebooted).  Media Network is not enabled on the client.
The problem is on the docker based server.  Nothing happens when I try to get  a new access key.  The container has been stopped and started, the firewall and AV have both been turned off.  None of these made any difference.
Logged

Richard Martin

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Re: Can't Get New Access Key
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2024, 07:36:14 am »

Well this is very odd. I thought of one last thing to try, turn off the firewall on my router and try again. Before turning it off I logged on to the server to prepare to request a new access key. There was a key there.
I logged in to my client and connected to the server using the key.

I wonder if when I thought nothing was happening it was just taking a long time and there was nothing in the UI to indicate this.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up