INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC is Black and Not Visible  (Read 1600 times)

Shasta Mike

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
MC is Black and Not Visible
« on: November 05, 2023, 01:25:30 am »

My Id crashed and now when it reboots I can see MC in the tray but it doesn't display.  So, I tried Iconify and get a black rectangle where MC should display.  MC is working because I can control with M04Media and play music.  I just cannot see MC when connected via Remote Desktop.   I've tried three 98 Reboots and one 99 Shutdown.  The Shutdown went poorly and I had a very hard time getting the Id to reboot and reconnect to my router. 

I'll attach a picture of the whole screen.  I have very limited understanding of Linux and I'm guessing/hoping there is some easy fix with the possible Linux commands in the dialog box (2nd pic)

Thx!
Logged

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2170
Re: MC is Black and Not Visible
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2023, 03:49:46 am »

It may be displaying off-screen. Try "Maximize", and check what options are available in "send to..."
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70983
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: MC is Black and Not Visible
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2023, 07:46:40 am »

Try ctrl 1 through ctrl 5.
Logged

Shasta Mike

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
Re: MC is Black and Not Visible
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2023, 08:06:00 am »

Try ctrl 1 through ctrl 5.
. Ctrl 4 put it into full screen art cover.  Then ESC and all back.
Many thanks!!
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 70983
  • where the buffalo roam
Re: MC is Black and Not Visible
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2023, 08:23:24 am »

Good.  You were probably stuck in Display View.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13361
Re: MC is Black and Not Visible
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2023, 08:56:08 pm »

There is a funny thing that I haven't figured out yet.
It only seems to happen to me on a remote connection.
One other way to fix it is the use the alternate method of resizing the MC window.
On my mac with remote desktop, it's alt-right-click and drag a corner just a bit to change the size.
Logged

Shasta Mike

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
Re: MC is Black and Not Visible
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2023, 09:20:53 pm »

There is a funny thing that I haven't figured out yet.
It only seems to happen to me on a remote connection.
One other way to fix it is the use the alternate method of resizing the MC window.
On my mac with remote desktop, it's alt-right-click and drag a corner just a bit to change the size.
. I'll try to file this one away too. Thx
Logged

Shasta Mike

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
Re: MC is Black and Not Visible
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2023, 12:06:07 pm »

There is a funny thing that I haven't figured out yet.
It only seems to happen to me on a remote connection.
One other way to fix it is the use the alternate method of resizing the MC window.
On my mac with remote desktop, it's alt-right-click and drag a corner just a bit to change the size.

Had a slight power blip last night that caused the Id to shutdown and it didn't reboot properly.  I had to hold the Id power button in for 10 seconds to get it to reboot.  Once I could reconnect MC was not displaying and I had to go through the Iconify > Ctrl 4 > Esc process again.  I tried the resizing method after Iconfiy when stuck with the black MC screen again and that didn't work.  Then the Ctrl 4 and Esc got everything back.  So glad I could refer to this thread in order to remember what to do.   :) 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up