INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What's your Songs to Lyrics Ratio?  (Read 2584 times)

mesue

• Galactic Citizen
What's your Songs to Lyrics Ratio?
« on: May 06, 2006, 10:19:52 am »

With all the great new lyrics plugins we've been seeing lately, I'm curious what other people's songs to lyrics ratios are. I've been collecting lyrics for my music collection since about 2000, and here's how it looks today:

14087 total songs (excluding comedy/spoken genres)
10028 with lyrics (including 310 instrumental tracks)
4059 without lyrics

About ¼ of those without lyrics are my husband's country music, which I will probably never search out lyrics for.
Sue

Doof

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Farm Animal Stupid
Re: What's your Songs to Lyrics Ratio?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2006, 07:59:59 am »

Strangely enough, I have 3734 files (I'm starting all over) and only 2 of them have lyrics. And those two only have lyrics because of me testing the Lyrics Editor Plugin. :P

But like I said, I'm starting over. I only just finished re-ripping my CDs a little while ago, and I'm still sifting through the remains of my old MP3 collection to figure out what's salvagable. So lyrics haven't been a huge priority yet. :P

jgreen

• Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2006, 08:24:19 am »

I used Sparta's great plugin and got around 80% hits.  The true figure is closer to 95% when I account for Classical music that I tagged haphazardly, and "collection" albums that threw off the default search function.  Also, it mostly refused to fetch lyrics for covers of other artists' material.