INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Thoughts from an MC12 newbie  (Read 1353 times)

nathanchavez

• Galactic Citizen
  • I know nothing except for the fact of my ignorance
Thoughts from an MC12 newbie
« on: September 24, 2006, 12:22:30 am »

First off let me say that I've been using J River products for about three years and I have liked every single one of them.  Until now.  I absolutely love MC 12.  It is by far better than version 11, which is hard to top.  Here is a list of questions/concerns/praises from a way to critical MC12 newbie:

1.  The changes to the Noire skin are fantastic!  No longer does the search field have grey lines through it.  I can't think of one think I don't like about this skin now. 

2.  The new icons are great also.  I like the contrast between them and the blue used in the Noire skin.  For the first time, I don't have to use custom icons in MC; I can use the defaults.  I do wonder why the same approach wasn't used in the main icons as was used in toolbar icons; there the icons light up when they are hovered over.  That would be a neat idea here too; colorless until hovered over.  Also, not all the toolbar icons are colored upon hovering such as "drives and devices" and "CD Labler."

3.  I wish the display windows was able to change size; shrink or expand.  The way it is now there is white space surrounding the album art when a song is played.

4.   I wish MC12 had the ability to switch DSP preferences based on song selection; a la the Eqdb plugin.  That would be great if it were an innate ability.

5.  Memory useage in 12.076 has gone down even further than what was required in 12.053.  MC12 has just outdone itself in that area.  13MB of ram is just amazing.

6.  Why have action windows icons listed if no such device is has been detected; meaning camera and handhelds.