INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Preserving tags and other info when ripping to WAV  (Read 2593 times)

matanoosh

• Recent member
Preserving tags and other info when ripping to WAV
« on: February 08, 2009, 05:17:15 pm »

Hello.
I am a newbie to MC and I'm trying to retain the tag, artwork and all other peripherial information associated with the audio files when ripping my CD's with EAC, to be played with MC13.

I understand that Due to format restrictions, while FLAC supports extra info other than pure audio embedded in the file - WAV does not. And I prefer to rip CD's directly to WAV.

Can anyone suggest a good method to "rip", or preserve the crucial peripherial information (artwork, song names, genre, year etc) during the WAV ripping process? Is there any other function/program I should use to rip only that information alongside the actual WAV rip?

Thanks a bunch.

llafriel

• World Citizen
Re: Preserving tags and other info when ripping to WAV
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 03:59:14 pm »

Why won't you use flac? No information is lost when transcoding to flac.

matanoosh

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 05:09:05 pm »

Thanks for your response.
I won't use FLAC because WAV sounds better on my system. I aim for top quality, and since J River does the decoding in realtime, and after I compared WAV vs FLAC and found differences, I prefer to use WAV. Perhaps AIFF is another alternative?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2009, 05:45:03 pm »

Thanks for your response.
I won't use FLAC because WAV sounds better on my system. I aim for top quality, and since J River does the decoding in realtime, and after I compared WAV vs FLAC and found differences, I prefer to use WAV. Perhaps AIFF is another alternative?